Open Universiteit

Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: A four-stage model for lifelong competence development
Authors: Schoonenboom, Judith
Tattersall, Colin
Miao, Yongwu
Stefanov, Krassen
Aleksieva-Petrova, Adelina
Keywords: competence assessment
competence development
lifelong learning
Issue Date: 18-Dec-2006
Abstract: This chapter discusses the role of e-assessment in the process of competence development. Its basic claim is that competence development is a process, with distinct stages, and that the assessment forms, and the roles taken on by those involved in the process, depend on the stage in which learning occurs. More specifically, as a learner starts with competence development, self-assessment will be the most prominent, if not the only, form of assessment. This orientation stage is followed by a stage of evidence collection, which is supported by e-portfolio building. In a third stage, the learner is judged by others, and in this stage organisations make use of assessment forms such as on-the-job assessment, 360-degree assessment and assessment centres. In the fourth stage, the learner perform competence development activities. This process is supported by self-assessment and peer assessment. With each stage, examples of e-assessment are provided.
Description: Schoonenboom, J., Tattersall, C., Miao, Y., Stefanov, K., Aleksieva-Petrova, A. (2007). A four-stage model for lifelong competence development. In D. Griffiths, R. Koper, O. Liber (Eds.). Proceedings of the 2nd TENCompetence Open Workshop 'Service Oriented Approaches and Lifelong Competence Development Infrastructures' (pp. 131-136). January, 11-12, 2007, Manchester, UK. ISBN: 0-907311-22-9
Appears in Collections:1. TENC: Publications and Preprints

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat 
A four-stage model of lifelong competence development.pdf5.28 MBAdobe PDFView/Open

This item is licensed under a Creative Commons License Creative Commons